Well it can be a ‘wearable muslin’

Colette’s Sorbetto top. The pattern to get me back into sewing. It did do this. I now have a table of new fabric and Tom reminded me I’ve done nothing but sew all weekend!

Image

This version was meant to be a muslin for fit, with fabric that I picked out of the stash that I had no plans to use (polycotton I think – feels too rough for a top really). But once I started using it I actually decided I liked it. I think what went wrong with this top is that ideally I needed the pattern to have a little more fit. The Sorbetto is designed to be loose, but when I tried it on it didn’t do me any favours. I added 3 inches to the length and then I did add 2 darts into the back once it was sewn but it needs more shaping I think. Perhaps it’s the fabric ? Something with a bit more ‘drape’ might be ok. But I do need to sort out those armholes.

Image

So I’m back to the drawing board and measuring out one of my own tops to see where the differences are.

Why is sewing not simple?!

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Well it can be a ‘wearable muslin’

  1. I like it! I think it’s the nature of the top that it is not very shaped or fitted. I also had to add a few inches to my Sorbetto and I’m only 5’3″!

  2. vjstracener

    Its cute!

  3. Ree

    I like it! It looks great with your jeans. Definitely wearable! You’re right, it would be lovely in a lighter, flawy fabric too.

  4. I love the contrasting bias binding. I actually think its very flattering on you! I made a woven top a while back and initially I wasn’t sure about the fit… I think often we used to tops being very form fitting. What I’m trying to say is I put this above a wearable muslin. It’s really cute!

Leave a Reply

