NewLook 6070 from Project Runway

As typical British bank holidays do, this weekend started off with a lot of rain. Yesterday was a complete wash out! There was nothing to do but stick the kettle on  and watch back to back episodes of cheesy US sitcoms. And what better time to start on a new project.

This time I’m having a go at NewLook 6070 from Project Runway.

Image

 

Against all my own advice, I’m not making a toile for this. I might regret this choice, and if I do I will regret it a lot because I’m using fabric that has sat in my stash for a while. Not because I don’t like it, but because I like it a lot. And I don’t want to screw it up! So now I have probably jinxed myself 🙂

Instead of making a toile I took down my measurements and took some time looking at the pattern and adjusting it before I cut my fabric. I’ve chosen a UK size 10 for the bodice and graded the skirt from a 10 at the waist to a 12 UK at the hips. Finger’s crossed this works, I’ve never tried it before. 

So far so good. the pattern isn’t made up of too many pieces and I had all my fabric cut out and ready on Friday afternoon. Today though, the sun is shining! The pattern seems very straightforward, but I’m yet to get to the sleeves and the zip. Note, I have never sewn sleeves before… Eeek. I’ve just had time to sew up the bodice and I’m about to sew up the side seams of the skirt. But I like how it’s shaping up:

Image

 

I’m sure the sleeves will be tricky, any advice before I tackle them?

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “NewLook 6070 from Project Runway

  1. I use lots of pins and ease in slowly. But then I am such a newbie! I have also basted them in first, in some situations. Good luck. I really like your fabric choice.

  2. It looks lovely, very nice fabric choice! I’m sure you’ll do fine on the sleeves, Basting them in is a good suggestion. Good luck!

    • Thanks, I’m loving the fabric and it was only from the market. Now the top and bottom are put together I think full sleeves might look too much – I might baste one full sleeve and one capped sleeve and see which looks best.

  3. It looks great so far! Here are 2 resources for sewing in sleeves. Good luck!


    http://www.craftsy.com/blog/2013/06/sewing-sleeves-with-ease/

  4. Ceri

    I have this pattern too! I’m yet to cut it out though, but I’ll be interested to see how yours turns out (I’m hoping it’ll be mega easy and fit perfectly). I absolutely LOVE the fabric – where is it from? I’m much more of a newbie than you, but the only thing I know about sleeves is that once you’ve cut them out they can sometimes look bigger than the armhole they’ve got to go into but don’t panic – it’ll all come together once you start sewing!

Leave a Reply

