Hello blogging world! It fees like such a long time since I’ve posted anything, or even read anything sewing related.  But I’m back! And I’ve got a lot of catching up to do.

First off, vjstracener voted the little blog of sewing for a Liebster Award. What a nice surprise! Thanks vistracener ,this made my day 🙂 I’ll have a think about my answers to your questions and pass the award love on.

I haven’t been sewing so much lately but I did turn this fabulous fabric from NY….

fabric1

…into 6 of these cute cushion covers for a friend’s Mum. She’d bought the fabric on a recent shopping trip in the States and wanted to make it into cushions.

PicMonkey Collage

“A square cushion cover? That shouldn’t be too hard” was my initial thought. But the tricky bit was sewing a zip into those tiny seam allowances that were SO SMALL! To make the most of the images I wanted to keep the gold border so had to cut just outside it on each edge. Giving me about 5mm! I’ve never put in a zip on such a narrow seam but thankfully they turned out ok.

Because of the border issues I could only make 6 (taking the two images from each edge) and now we’re left with the middle section, where the fabric has been cut right up to the gold edge. Dora wants some more cushions made with the rest of it and has left me to decide how they’re done. Any suggestions how to make the most of the rest of this fabric? I’m thinking of cutting out round the gold borders and fusing the image onto some other fabric, with a bit of applique to stitch them down…. what do you think?

1 Comment

Filed under Crafts, Homemade, sewing

One response to “

  1. That actually sounds like a pretty good idea. I need to do some more sewing as well.

Leave a Reply

