A sewing quick win and a sewing disaster

Who would have thought it? There IS such a think as a sewing quick win! In one afternoon I have a new work skirt that I LOVE! Why did it take me an afternoon instead of the usual couple of weeks? Because inspired by ReFashionista, this skirt went from long granny skirt to knee length pencil in just a few alterations.

I loved the fabric of this skirt and picked it up for £3.00 at a vintage/recycle fair. But I hated the shape. It was too big and too long.

PicMonkey Collage
The Before Skirt

So I chopped 5 inches off the length. I took in the waist and the side seams. And I had a new skirt!

skirtv2

And I made a nice new top to go with my ‘new’ skirt. But then tragedy struck. My overlocker ATE it! I’m not going to lie. I was a bit devastated. After I’d worked so long understanding how to rethread my overlocker without jamming it, it did this to me. Or rather I was lazy. I’d spent a whole day drafting the top pattern and putting it together and when the fit was finally as I wanted it I decided to overlock the seams. My fabric got caught up and a big hold appeared in the front. Doh.

BUT I have moved on. I’ve dealt with it. I’ll learn from it. But here’s how it was looking!

coral top

I need to get some new coral fabric and start over. Next up, my Cynthia Rowley pattern. Wish me luck!

4 Comments

Filed under Clothes, sewing

4 responses to “A sewing quick win and a sewing disaster

  1. Much better than a looooong length skirt!

  2. The coral colour is so lovely! What fabric is it? It looks like it has a really nice drape. What a shame it got eaten…

    • I know I loved the colour too! I’m not sure what it was.. Its quite thick and I was actually questioning whether it was right for a top. Perhaps it’s a blessing in disguise. But I’m off to the market this morning with my eyes peeled for more coral colours.

  3. Well the shirt looked really cute!

Leave a Reply

