A knitting machine… Help!

A very kind person has donated a knitting machine to me. It was in want of a new home and although I didn’t even know these things existed, I was excited! The problem is I have no idea what to do with it. I spent last weekend cleaning it up and making space in the little room of sewing for it to live. But the little room is, well, little. And this machine is big! 

ImageIt’s missing some pieces, but without a manual I’m not sure which bits. Google has shown me that I’ve already set it up the wrong way round so I’m off to a good start.

If anyone has experience with knitting machines, or knows anyone who does, I would love to hear from you. This model is a Brother KH260 I’ll be spending some time this weekend searching around for hints and tips.

I’ll also be having a go at the Sewaholic Cambie dress, but I’m going to do the sensible thing and make a toile first to make sure it fits (sooo not as much fun as cutting out the real fabric, but it will save me the heartbreak when all my hard work doesn’t fit!)

Happy sewing!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “A knitting machine… Help!

  1. Anne

    Hi there – I just got a kh260 (my first knitting machine too) a couple of months ago. That thing is a BEAST, but I love it. For me, the most useful things for teaching myself how to use it are the manual (there’s a free one online somewhere, or I can send my digital copy to you,) and Diana Sullivan’s videos on youtube. They’re excellent, and she demos on a KH260. I also found a machine knitters club in my city, which has been kind of a trip as well as a great resource for patterns and troubleshooting.

    Anyway, good luck! PS – I found your site by googling the kh260 again to get a sense of how people work with fine gauge yarns…

    • Hi Anne, So nice to meet another newbie to machine knitting! I found a good video on you tube for setting up the machine here but I haven’t downloaded a manual so if you have one you could send me that would be great! (Littleroomofsewing@gmail.com). I’ll definitely check out Diana Sullivan’s videos and I need to find somewhere that might supply spare parts too :s
      I’ve been distracted by making summer dresses (I’m convinced spring/summer will be on its way to London soon…) but I can’t wait to get up and running with this machine!
      Keep in touch – I’d love to hear how you get on.
      Anna

Leave a Reply

